BOOK REVIEW – More Than We Can Tell by Brigid Kemmerer

Every day Rev struggles with the memories and demons of the time before he was adopted. He’s always managed just fine, until a letter from his birth father brings hellfire, fear and danger back into his life.

Emma escapes her life in an online game she built herself. Virtual reality is so much easier than real life. But then another player joins the game and suddenly ultra-violent threats start to stream in . . .

When Rev and Emma meet, they are fighting a darkness they can’t put into words. But somehow they hear each other and together they might be able to find a way out . . .

REVIEW

Rev is a complex character who has been adopted by him foster parents. When his parents adopt more children he is happy but then they bring home Matthew who is a teenager too.

Rev hears from his biological father who abused him and was not allowed to contact him till he turned 18 and it unsettles Rev.

Emma escapes her day to day life through online gaming. There she can ignore her home troubles and get parents. She even built her own online game. But when she starts to get harassed by another player she can’t even escape online.

When their paths collide, they do not know if it is fate or just that they both needed to get our of the house. But they start talking and soon realise they have more in common than the would expect.

A great, addictive read that covers a broad range of challenging topics. This is not a simple boy meets girl story where it all ends happily ever after. There’s are twists and a gripping finale.

RATING 4/5

Advertisements

Bad Girls with Perfect Faces by Lynn Weingarten

Description

STUNNING NEW PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER SUICIDE NOTES FROM BEAUTIFUL GIRLS.

No one is good enough for Xavier. Not according to Sasha, his best friend. There’s nothing Sasha wouldn’t do to protect Xavier from getting hurt, especially by his cheating ex Ivy, who’s suddenly slithered back into the picture. Worried that Xavier is ready to forgive and forget, Sasha decides to do a little catfishing. She poses as a hot guy online, to prove cheaters never change.

But Sasha’s plan goes wrong fast, and soon the lies lead down a path from which there’s no return . . .

Lynn Weingarten is a writer of teenage and young adult fiction and an editor of books. She lives in Brooklyn, New York where she likes reading, eating snacks, playing with fluffy animals, and plotting ways for made-up people to brutally murder each other. She is the queen of twisty-turny plots and her books are perfect for readers who have enjoyed books such as Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places, Karen McManus’ One of Us Is Lying, C.L. Taylor’s The Treatment, and E Lockhart’s We Were Liars.

REVIEW Sasha has been busy trying to take her best friend Xavier’s mind off of his broken heart after his break up with Ivy after Xavier discovered Ivy cheating on him. When Xavier finally agrees to leave his bedroom and go out on a night out with Sasha he bumps into Ivy and is pursuaded to take her back. Sasha has been hiding her feelings for Xavier and now he is back with Ivy she knows that Ivy isn’t good enough for him and she is going to cheat on him again. To speed up the inevitable, Sasha takes matters into her own hands and starts messaging Ivy herself, posing as someone else. What follows is a roller-coaster of twists and turns in an addictive page turner with an unpredictable final twist. RATING – 4/5

BOOK REVIEW – Sunflowers In February by Phyllida Shrimpton

Lily wakes up one crisp Sunday morning on the side of the road. She has no idea how she got there. It is all very peaceful. and very beautiful. It is only when the police car, and then the ambulance arrive, and she sees her own body, that she realises that she is in fact . . . dead.

But what is she supposed do now? Lily has no option but to follow her body and see her family – her parents and her twin brother start falling apart.

And then her twin brother Ben gives her a once in a deathtime opportunity – to use his own body for a while. But will Lily give Ben his body back? She is beginning to have a rather good time . . .

REVIEW

Sunflowers in February follows the story of a twin, Lily, who has woken up on side of the road and has no memory of why she is there.

As she slowly realised that she is looking at her own body and her head is at an unhealthy angle and that she must be dead.
Stuck in limbo, Lily wants nothing more than to talk to her family and her twin brother. One night her brother Ben wakes in the night and it looks like he can hear her.

An addictive read that beautifully portrays the loneliness of being stuck on the outside of your own life.

RATING 4/5

BOOK REVIEW – The Truth & Lies of Ella Black by Emily Barr

Being on my amazing honeymoon means that I am getting time to read at least a book a day if not more, all whilst dipping my toes in the sea and getting some sun! ☀ This is the life!

Today’s read was The Truth And Lies Of Ella Black by Emily Barr which I have not been able to put down to even say hi to my lovely new wife!

Ella Black seems to live the life most other seventeen-year-olds would kill for . . . Until one day, telling her nothing, her parents whisk her off to Rio de Janeiro. Determined to find out why, Ella takes her chance and searches through their things. And realises her life has been a lie. Her mother and father aren’t hers at all. Unable to comprehend the truth, Ella runs away, to the one place they’ll never think to look – the favelas. But there she learns a terrible secret – the truth about her real parents and their past. And the truth about a mother, desperate for a daughter taken from her seventeen years ago . . . REVIEW Ella Black has a doting family and a comfortable life but she is hiding a secret from everyone she knows. She has a second side to her that she can’t control. She calls her second half Bella, short for bad Ella. She can’t control Bella and does everything she can to keep her at bay. But when she doesn’t manage this, Bella is evil. One day Ella is suddenly taken out of school and travels to Rio. She has no idea why her parents are taking her there and why it is so sudden. When she gets there her whole world falls apart and she relies on her other side, Bella, to survive. A well paced story that touches on dark difficult subjects in a compassionate way. An addictive read that I finished in one sitting. RATING – 4/5

BOOK REVIEW: Three Things About Elsie – Joanna Cannon

Another beach read on my honeymoon, Three Things About Elsie by Joanna Cannon had me crying to myself on my sun lounger!

84-year-old Florence has fallen in her flat at Cherry Tree Home for the Elderly. As she waits to be rescued, Florence wonders if a terrible secret from her past is about to come to light; and, if the charming new resident is who he claims to be, why does he look exactly a man who died sixty years ago?

From the author of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP, this book will teach you many things, but here are three of them:
1) The fine threads of humanity will connect us all forever.
2) There is so very much more to anyone than the worst thing they have ever done.
3) Even the smallest life can leave the loudest echo.

REVIEW – One of my favourite reads this year. This is a story about Florence, who has has a fall in her sheltered accommodation.

There has been a new resident join Cherry Tree, who is the sporting image of someone Florence used to know a long time ago. But Florence is not sure of her own mind, and most people don’t trust her mind either.

Florence tries to piece together her memories with the support of her best friend Elsie. With intertwined lives within the home we learn about Florence and Elsie’s lives and friendship.

This is a laugh out loud story which left me in tears it was so touching.

RATING – 5/5

BOOK REVIEW: Miss Match – Crystal Cestari


Fans of Geek Girl and Girl Online will love this magically messed-up romance.

Amber Sand has a gift. Five seconds of eye contact, and she can see your soul mate.

She’s seen it all, every kind of happy ending there is. Except for one – her own. So when Charlie Blitzman, the most-desired boy in school, enlists Amber’s help, she finds herself falling for him. Problem is, her pesky gift doesn’t agree – Charlie and Amber are just not meant to be, or are they?

How can Amber, an honest peddler of true love, pursue a boy she knows is not the one for her?

REVIEW

Amber has a gift, she can see who someone’s life match is within seconds of looking into their eyes, whether she wants to or not. Spending all her time seeing glimpses of others future partners and the happy moments they will share together is making this teen feel more and more alone every day.

With her best friend who has a different gift, the ability to see into the future, they understand each other in a way that bothers around don’t.

Amber lives in a different reality to those around her at school, her mum is a witch and she can see the paranormal creatures who walk among everyone in day to day life. When the most desired boy in school asks for her help to find someone who is missing, Amber introduces him to her world and she opens up her own heart to him.

RATING – 3/5

BOOK REVIEW: Genuine Fraud – E Lockhart

From the author of the unforgettable bestseller WE WERE LIARS comes a suspenseful new psychological thriller – the story of a young woman whose diabolical smarts are her ticket into a charmed life.

But how many times can someone reinvent themselves? You be the judge.

Imogen is a runaway heiress, an orphan, a cook, and a cheat.
Jule is a fighter, a social chameleon, and an athlete.
An intense friendship. A disappearance. A murder, or maybe two.
A bad romance, or maybe three.
Blunt objects, disguises, blood, and chocolate. The American dream, superheroes, spies, and villains.
A girl who refuses to give people what they want from her.
A girl who refuses to be the person she once was.

REVIEW

In this exciting, fast paced Talented Mr Ripley style story we go back in time with each chapter as we find out about Jules and how she has ended up living a life that was never hers to steal. Jules is a con artist who has  found the way to living a charmed life after forming an intense, close friendship with Imogen, a trust fund heiress who is trying to figure out who she is after being adopted.

In a calculated friendship Jule works out how to make the most of any situation and quickly shows that she will stop an nothing to live her American dream. Painting herself as a superhero, she forgets what is true and who she ever was to begin with. As her lies begin to unravel, Jule fights to remember and forget simultaneously who she is.

In an addictive page turner the story of why Jule is on the run from the police is revealed by going backwards in time.

RATING – 4/5